Till startsida
Sitemap
To content Read more about how we use cookies on gu.se

Department of Historical Studies

at The Faculty of Arts

Department of Historical Studies
PO Box 200
SE405 30 Göteborg
Delivery address: Lundgrensgatan 5, 412 56 Göteborg
Visiting address: Eklandagatan 86, 412 61 Göteborg

Web Page: www.historiskastudier.gu.se
Email: historia@gu.se

Deputy Head: Henrik Janson

About the unit

Our department is a meeting place for students, staff, teachers and researchers with an interest in Classical History, Archaeology and History.

Research in the department mainly focuses on social and political processes throughout history, and we offer a wide range of courses and expertise covering, e.g., the European Bronze Age, Ancient Greece and Rome, the Scandinavian medieval period, pre-industrial societies, and modern history.

Research and teaching are equally important to us, and we strive to provide our students with opportunities to learn and develop their skills through a variety of teaching methods, ranging from lectures and seminars to study groups and tutorials given by senior lecturers.

Facts and figures (2014)

  • Students (first and second cycle): 1,406
  • Doctoral students: 43
  • Staff: 60
  • Turnover: €11.2 million of which €1.65 million is external funding

 

Gothenburg is Sweden’s second largest city with a population of half a million. Trade and shipping have been important since the founding of the city in the 17th century. Even today, Gothenburg is still the largest port in the Nordic region. It combines the friendly atmosphere of a small town with the opportunities of a big city. Here you will easily find cozy cafés, restaurants offering local seafood, and a wide variety of shops, as well as museums and beautiful parks within the city centre.The university, department and our departmental Museum of Antiquities are all within walking distance from most of the city’s attractions and cultural venues, such as the Concert Hall and the Museum of Art. Liseberg, Scandinavia’s largest amusement park, is also located nearby, as are the trade fair and exhibition centres.

Latest publications

Shadows of pain
Leila Papoli-yazdi
book: Archaeologies of Totalitarianism, Authoritarianism, and Repression: Dark Modernities , Palgrave MacMillan, Chapter in book 2020
Chapter in book

Unfinished Narratives: Some Remarks on the Archaeology of Contemporary Past in Iran
Maryam Dezhamkhooy, Leila Papoli-yazdi
Archaeological Dialogues, Journal article 2020
Journal article

Flowers in garbage: material evidence of prostitution in late 19-21th century Iran
Leila Papoli-yazdi, Maryam Dezhamkhooy
Private Lives, Public Histories: An Ethnohistory of the Intimate Past., Lexington Books, Chapter in book 2020
Chapter in book

The time of callaïs: radiocarbon dates and Bayesian chronological modelling
Bettina Schulz Paulsson, Serge Cassen, Carlos Rodríguez-Rellán, António Faustino Carvalho, Jean-Sebastien Vaquer et al.
Guirec Querré, Serge Cassen and Emmanuelle Vigier (eds.), La parure en callaïs du Néolithique européen, Oxford, Archaeopress, Chapter in book 2019
Chapter in book

Approaching sheep herds origins and the emergence of the wool economy in continental Europe during the Bronze Age
Serena Sabatini, Sophie Bergerbrant, L. Brandt, A. Margaryan, M. E. Allentoft
Archaeological and Anthropological Sciences, Journal article 2019
Journal article

Moving metals IV: Swords, metal sources and trade networks in Bronze Age Europe
Johan Ling, Eva Hjärthner-Holdar, Lena Grandin, Zofia Stos-Gale, Kristian Kristiansen et al.
Journal of Archaeological Science: Reports , Journal article 2019
Journal article

Negotiating enclosures? Local responses to the Swedish enclosure reforms, the case of Västergötland 1804-­‐1860
Lars Nyström
Paper presented at Rural history, Paris, September 2019, Conference contribution 2019
Conference contribution

Tracing dietary change of the megalithic population in South-Western Sweden
Malou Blank
Müller, Johannes, Martin Hinz, Maria Wunderlich (eds): Megaliths – Societies – Landscapes. Early Monumentality and Social Differentiation in Neolithic Europe,vol. 2. Proceedings of the international conference »Megaliths – Societies – Landscapes. Early Monumentality and Social Differentiation in Neolithic Europe« (16th–20th June 2015) in Kiel., Bonn, Dr. Rudolf Habelt GmbH, Conference paper 2019
Conference paper

People

Showing 1 - 50 of 104

Name Title Phone Email
Kristiansen, Kristian +46 31 7864613 kristian.kristiansen@archaeology.gu.se
Persson, Lennart K +46 31 7864577
Streifert, Marie Administrative manager, Administrativ chef, inst +46 31 7866357 marie.streifert@gu.se
Karlsson, Johnny Administrator +46 31 7865516 johnny.karlsson@history.gu.se
Gulzar, Sidra Associate researcher sidra.gulzar@gu.se
Meijer, Ellen Associate researcher ellen.meijer@gu.se
Qallaki, Ylber Associate researcher ylber.qallaki@gu.se
von Sydow, Katarina Tullia Communications officer +46 31 7866351 katarina.von.sydow@gu.se
Simeone, Gian Giuseppe Degree programme coordinator gian.giuseppe.simeone@gu.se
Alexandersson, Henrik Doctoral student, archaeology +46 31 7865988 henrik.alexandersson@archaeology.gu.se
Andersson, Ann-Sofie Doctoral student +46 31 7866764 ann-sofie.andersson@gu.se
Andreeff, Alexander Doctoral student, archaeology +46 31 7864610 alexander.andreeff@archaeology.gu.se
Blank, Malou Doctoral student +46 31 7861867 malou.blank.backlund@gu.se
Borenberg, Paul Doctoral student paul.borenberg@gu.se
Gustavsson, Anna Doctoral student anna.gustavsson@gu.se
Hansson, Lars Doctoral student lars.hansson@gu.se
Harmel, Mirko Doctoral student mirko.harmel@gu.se
Jakubec, Pavol Doctoral student pavol.jakubec@gu.se
Jernkrok, Magnus Doctoral student magnus.jernkrok@gu.se
Locke, Anna Doctoral student +46 31 7865291 anna.r.locke@gu.se
Lövkvist, Linda Doctoral student, archaeology linda.lovkvist@gu.se
Macane, Aija Doctoral student aija.macane@gu.se
Malmer, Mari Doctoral student mari.malmer@gu.se
Nitenberg, Annelie Doctoral student annelie.nitenberg@gu.se
Norstein, Frida Espolin Doctoral student frida.espolin.norstein@gu.se
Nykvist Thorsson, Anna Doctoral student anna.nykvist.thorsson@gu.se
Sandström, Cecilia Doctoral student +46 31 7864615 cecilia.sandstrom@gu.se
Solemsli, Fredrik Doctoral student fredrik.solemsli@gu.se
Sukhino-Khomenko, Denis Doctoral student denis.sukhino-khomenko@gu.se
Thorelli, Johanna Doctoral student johanna.thorelli@gu.se
von Arbin, Staffan Doctoral student staffan.arbin@gu.se
Webb, Lewis Doctoral student lewis.webb@gu.se
Yuan, Yuan Doctoral student, Archaeology yuan.yuan@gu.se
Zachrisson, Terese Doctoral student +46 31 7866764 terese.zachrisson@gu.se
Johansson, Linda Education administrator +46 31 7864407 linda.johansson@history.gu.se
Öberg, Viktoria Education administrator +46 31 7864510 viktoria.oberg@gu.se
Lunden, Helene Finance administrator +46 31 7864385 helene.lunden@history.gu.se
Fälth, Jennie Finance officer +46 31 7864983 jennie.falth@gu.se
Wiberg Fogelberg, Mattias Human resources officer +46 31 7864614 mattias.wiberg@gu.se
von Scheele, Adam Institutionsadministratör +46 31 7863544 adam.von.scheele@history.gu.se
Andersson, Eva Lecturer +46 31 7864171 eva.andersson@history.gu.se
Pihl, Annika Postgraduate studies administrator +46 31 7866840 annika.pihl@class.gu.se
Ahlberger, Christer Professor +46 31 7864504 christer.ahlberger@history.gu.se
Cornell, Per Professor +46 31 7865987 per.cornell@archaeology.gu.se
Fischer, Peter Professor, archaeologi +46 31 7864354 peter@fischerarchaeology.se
Hermanson, Lars Professor, Deputy Head +46 31 7864512 lars.hermanson@history.gu.se
Hjørungdal, Tove Professor +46 31 7865266 tove.hjorungdal@archaeology.gu.se
Karlsson, Håkan Professor +46 31 7865256 hakan.karlsson@archaeology.gu.se
Larsson Lovén, Lena Professor +46 31 7864659 lena.larsson@class.gu.se
Ling, Johan Professor +46 31 7862974 johan.ling@archaeology.gu.se

Showing 1 - 50 of 104

Showing 1 - 10 of 1784

2020

Shadows of pain
Leila Papoli-yazdi
book: Archaeologies of Totalitarianism, Authoritarianism, and Repression: Dark Modernities , Palgrave MacMillan, Chapter in book 2020
Chapter in book

Unfinished Narratives: Some Remarks on the Archaeology of Contemporary Past in Iran
Maryam Dezhamkhooy, Leila Papoli-yazdi
Archaeological Dialogues, Journal article 2020
Journal article

Flowers in garbage: material evidence of prostitution in late 19-21th century Iran
Leila Papoli-yazdi, Maryam Dezhamkhooy
Private Lives, Public Histories: An Ethnohistory of the Intimate Past., Lexington Books, Chapter in book 2020
Chapter in book

2019

The time of callaïs: radiocarbon dates and Bayesian chronological modelling
Bettina Schulz Paulsson, Serge Cassen, Carlos Rodríguez-Rellán, António Faustino Carvalho, Jean-Sebastien Vaquer et al.
Guirec Querré, Serge Cassen and Emmanuelle Vigier (eds.), La parure en callaïs du Néolithique européen, Oxford, Archaeopress, Chapter in book 2019
Chapter in book

Approaching sheep herds origins and the emergence of the wool economy in continental Europe during the Bronze Age
Serena Sabatini, Sophie Bergerbrant, L. Brandt, A. Margaryan, M. E. Allentoft
Archaeological and Anthropological Sciences, Journal article 2019
Journal article

Moving metals IV: Swords, metal sources and trade networks in Bronze Age Europe
Johan Ling, Eva Hjärthner-Holdar, Lena Grandin, Zofia Stos-Gale, Kristian Kristiansen et al.
Journal of Archaeological Science: Reports , Journal article 2019
Journal article

Negotiating enclosures? Local responses to the Swedish enclosure reforms, the case of Västergötland 1804-­‐1860
Lars Nyström
Paper presented at Rural history, Paris, September 2019, Conference contribution 2019
Conference contribution

Tracing dietary change of the megalithic population in South-Western Sweden
Malou Blank
Müller, Johannes, Martin Hinz, Maria Wunderlich (eds): Megaliths – Societies – Landscapes. Early Monumentality and Social Differentiation in Neolithic Europe,vol. 2. Proceedings of the international conference »Megaliths – Societies – Landscapes. Early Monumentality and Social Differentiation in Neolithic Europe« (16th–20th June 2015) in Kiel., Bonn, Dr. Rudolf Habelt GmbH, Conference paper 2019
Conference paper

Showing 1 - 10 of 1784

Page Manager: Katarina Tullia von Sydow|Last update: 2/21/2017
Share:

The University of Gothenburg uses cookies to provide you with the best possible user experience. By continuing on this website, you approve of our use of cookies.  What are cookies?