Till startsida
Sitemap
To content Read more about how we use cookies on gu.se

Department of Historical Studies

at Faculty of Humanities

Department of Historical Studies
PO Box 200
SE405 30 Göteborg
Delivery address: Lundgrensgatan 5, 412 56 Göteborg
Visiting address: Renströmsgatan 6, 412 55 Göteborg

Web Page: www.historiskastudier.gu.se
Email: historia@gu.se

Head of Department: Henrik Janson

About the unit

Our department is a meeting place for students, staff, teachers and researchers with an interest in Classical History, Archaeology and History.

Research in the department mainly focuses on social and political processes throughout history, and we offer a wide range of courses and expertise covering, e.g., the European Bronze Age, Ancient Greece and Rome, the Scandinavian medieval period, pre-industrial societies, and modern history.

Research and teaching are equally important to us, and we strive to provide our students with opportunities to learn and develop their skills through a variety of teaching methods, ranging from lectures and seminars to study groups and tutorials given by senior lecturers.

Facts and figures (2014)

  • Students (first and second cycle): 1,406
  • Doctoral students: 43
  • Staff: 60
  • Turnover: €11.2 million of which €1.65 million is external funding

 

Gothenburg is Sweden’s second largest city with a population of half a million. Trade and shipping have been important since the founding of the city in the 17th century. Even today, Gothenburg is still the largest port in the Nordic region. It combines the friendly atmosphere of a small town with the opportunities of a big city. Here you will easily find cozy cafés, restaurants offering local seafood, and a wide variety of shops, as well as museums and beautiful parks within the city centre.The university, department and our departmental Museum of Antiquities are all within walking distance from most of the city’s attractions and cultural venues, such as the Concert Hall and the Museum of Art. Liseberg, Scandinavia’s largest amusement park, is also located nearby, as are the trade fair and exhibition centres.

Latest publications

Weaving in Bronze Age Italy: the Case of the Terramare settlement at Montale
Serena Sabatini
The Textile Revolution in Bronze Age Europe / edited by Serena Sabatini, Sophie Bergerbrant., Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, Chapter in book 2020
Chapter in book

Textile Production and Specialisation in Bronze Age Europe
Serena Sabatini, Sophie Bergerbrant
The Textile Revolution in Bronze Age Europe: Production, Specialisation, Consumption / edited by Serena Sabatini, Sophie Bergerbrant., Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, Chapter in book 2020
Chapter in book

Wool Textiles in the Early Nordic Bronze Age: Local or Traded?
Sophie Bergerbrant
The Textile Revolution in Bronze Age Europe: Production, Specialisation, Consumption / edited by Serena Sabatini, Sophie Bergerbrant., Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, Chapter in book 2020
Chapter in book

The Weight of History: Visual Narratives for an Autobiographic Archaeology (under publication)
Maria Maria T. Starzmann, Leila Papoli-Yazdi
Journal of contemporary archaeology, Journal article 2020
Journal article

Shadows of pain
Leila Papoli-Yazdi
book: Archaeologies of Totalitarianism, Authoritarianism, and Repression: Dark Modernities , Palgrave MacMillan, Chapter in book 2020
Chapter in book

Unfinished Narratives: Some Remarks on the Archaeology of Contemporary Past in Iran
Maryam Dezhamkhooy, Leila Papoli-Yazdi
Archaeological Dialogues, Journal article 2020
Journal article

Eliter och nätverk i fejder och krig
Lars Hermanson
Middelalder. Krig og konflikt, 1100-1300, red. Knut Arstad. Forsvarmuseets småskrift nr. 50, Report chapter 2019
Report chapter

People

Showing 1 - 50 of 102

Name Title Phone Email
Persson, Lennart K +46 31 7864577
von Scheele, Adam Institutionsadministratör +46 31 7863544 adam.von.scheele@history.gu.se
Macane, Aija Doctoral student aija.macane@gu.se
Andreeff, Alexander Doctoral student, archaeology +46 31 7864610 alexander.andreeff@archaeology.gu.se
Gustafsson, Anders Senior lecturer, Deputy Head +46 31 7864905 anders.gustafsson@archaeology.gu.se
Ottosson, Anders Senior lecturer +46 31 7866774 anders.ottosson@history.gu.se
Simonsen, Anders Study counsellor +46 31 7865526 svl@history.gu.se
Synnestvedt, Anita Researcher +46 31 7864907 anita.synnestvedt@archaeology.gu.se
Olausson, Ann-Sofie Lovisa Doctoral student +46 31 7866764 ann-sofie.olausson@gu.se
Gustavsson, Anna Doctoral student anna.gustavsson@gu.se
Nykvist Thorsson, Anna Doctoral student anna.nykvist.thorsson@gu.se
Locke, Anna Doctoral student +46 31 7865291 anna.r.locke@gu.se
Nitenberg, Annelie Doctoral student annelie.nitenberg@gu.se
Pihl, Annika Postgraduate studies administrator +46 31 7866840 annika.pihl@class.gu.se
Magnusdottir, Audur Senior lecturer +46 31 7864626 audur.magnusdottir@history.gu.se
Schulz Paulsson, Bettina Researcher +46 31 7864517 bettina.schulz.paulsson@gu.se
Holmberg, Carl Senior lecturer +46 31 7864513 carl.holmberg@history.gu.se
Sandström, Cecilia Doctoral student +46 31 7864615 cecilia.sandstrom@gu.se
Leijonhufvud, Charlotte Researcher, history charlotte.leijonhufvud@gu.se
Ahlberger, Christer Professor christer.ahlberger@history.gu.se
Horn, Christian Researcher christian.horn@gu.se
Isendahl, Christian Senior lecturer +46 31 7864656 christian.isendahl@gu.se
Hansen, Christine Researcher +46 31 7862827 christine.hansen@gu.se
Hess, Cordelia Senior lecturer cordelia.hess@gu.se
Larsson, Daniel Researcher +46 31 7865948 daniel.larsson@history.gu.se
Sukhino-Khomenko, Denis Doctoral student denis.sukhino-khomenko@gu.se
Price, Douglas Researcher douglas.price@gu.se
Nordbladh, Elisabeth Professor emerita, Archaeology elisabeth.nordbladh@archaeology.gu.se
Meijer, Ellen Associate researcher ellen.meijer@gu.se
Hallberg, Erik Researcher +46 31 7862827 erik.hallberg@history.gu.se
Andersson, Eva Lecturer +46 31 7864171 eva.andersson@history.gu.se
Solemsli, Fredrik Doctoral student fredrik.solemsli@gu.se
Norstein, Frida Espolin Doctoral student frida.espolin.norstein@gu.se
Wikström, Frida Researcher frida.wikstrom@gu.se
Simeone, Gian Giuseppe Degree programme coordinator gian.giuseppe.simeone@gu.se
Malmstedt, Göran Professor +46 31 7864508 goran.malmstedt@history.gu.se
Karlsson, Håkan Professor +46 31 7865256 hakan.karlsson@archaeology.gu.se
Ahlberger Le Deunff, Hélène Project assistant helene.ahlberger.le.deunff@gu.se
Lunden, Helene Finance administrator +46 31 7864385 helene.lunden@history.gu.se
Whittaker, Helene Professor +46 31 7864514 helene.whittaker@gu.se
Alexandersson, Henrik Doctoral student, archaeology +46 31 7865988 henrik.alexandersson@archaeology.gu.se
Boman, Henrik Senior lecturer henrik.boman@gu.se
Boman, Henrik Senior lecturer henrik.boman@gu.se
Janson, Henrik Senior lecturer, Head of Department +46 31 7865287 henrik.janson@history.gu.se
Östenberg, Ida Senior lecturer ida.ostenberg@class.gu.se
Wiman, Ingela Senior lecturer ingela.wiman@class.gu.se
Andersson, Irene Researcher irene.andersson.4@gu.se
Fälth, Jennie Finance officer +46 31 7864983 jennie.falth@gu.se
Högström Berntson, Jenny Project coordinator +46 31 7864409 jenny.hogstrom@gu.se
Ling, Johan Professor +46 31 7862974 johan.ling@archaeology.gu.se

Showing 1 - 50 of 102

Showing 1 - 10 of 1882

2020

Weaving in Bronze Age Italy: the Case of the Terramare settlement at Montale
Serena Sabatini
The Textile Revolution in Bronze Age Europe / edited by Serena Sabatini, Sophie Bergerbrant., Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, Chapter in book 2020
Chapter in book

Textile Production and Specialisation in Bronze Age Europe
Serena Sabatini, Sophie Bergerbrant
The Textile Revolution in Bronze Age Europe: Production, Specialisation, Consumption / edited by Serena Sabatini, Sophie Bergerbrant., Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, Chapter in book 2020
Chapter in book

Wool Textiles in the Early Nordic Bronze Age: Local or Traded?
Sophie Bergerbrant
The Textile Revolution in Bronze Age Europe: Production, Specialisation, Consumption / edited by Serena Sabatini, Sophie Bergerbrant., Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, Chapter in book 2020
Chapter in book

The Weight of History: Visual Narratives for an Autobiographic Archaeology (under publication)
Maria Maria T. Starzmann, Leila Papoli-Yazdi
Journal of contemporary archaeology, Journal article 2020
Journal article

Shadows of pain
Leila Papoli-Yazdi
book: Archaeologies of Totalitarianism, Authoritarianism, and Repression: Dark Modernities , Palgrave MacMillan, Chapter in book 2020
Chapter in book

Unfinished Narratives: Some Remarks on the Archaeology of Contemporary Past in Iran
Maryam Dezhamkhooy, Leila Papoli-Yazdi
Archaeological Dialogues, Journal article 2020
Journal article

2019

Eliter och nätverk i fejder och krig
Lars Hermanson
Middelalder. Krig og konflikt, 1100-1300, red. Knut Arstad. Forsvarmuseets småskrift nr. 50, Report chapter 2019
Report chapter

Showing 1 - 10 of 1882

Page Manager: Katarina Tullia von Sydow|Last update: 2/21/2017
Share:

The University of Gothenburg uses cookies to provide you with the best possible user experience. By continuing on this website, you approve of our use of cookies.  What are cookies?