Till startsida
Sitemap
To content Read more about how we use cookies on gu.se

Department of Historical Studies

at The Faculty of Arts

Department of Historical Studies
PO Box 200
SE405 30 Göteborg
Delivery address: Eklandagatan 86, 412 61 Göteborg
Visiting address: Eklandagatan 86, 412 61 Göteborg

Fax: +46 31 7864456
Web Page: www.historiskastudier.gu.se
Email: historia@gu.se

Head of Department: Helene Whittaker

About the unit

Our department is a meeting place for students, staff, teachers and researchers with an interest in Classical History, Archaeology and History.

Research in the department mainly focuses on social and political processes throughout history, and we offer a wide range of courses and expertise covering, e.g., the European Bronze Age, Ancient Greece and Rome, the Scandinavian medieval period, pre-industrial societies, and modern history.

Research and teaching are equally important to us, and we strive to provide our students with opportunities to learn and develop their skills through a variety of teaching methods, ranging from lectures and seminars to study groups and tutorials given by senior lecturers.

Facts and figures (2014)

  • Students (first and second cycle): 1,406
  • Doctoral students: 43
  • Staff: 60
  • Turnover: €11.2 million of which €1.65 million is external funding

 

Gothenburg is Sweden’s second largest city with a population of half a million. Trade and shipping have been important since the founding of the city in the 17th century. Even today, Gothenburg is still the largest port in the Nordic region. It combines the friendly atmosphere of a small town with the opportunities of a big city. Here you will easily find cozy cafés, restaurants offering local seafood, and a wide variety of shops, as well as museums and beautiful parks within the city centre.The university, department and our departmental Museum of Antiquities are all within walking distance from most of the city’s attractions and cultural venues, such as the Concert Hall and the Museum of Art. Liseberg, Scandinavia’s largest amusement park, is also located nearby, as are the trade fair and exhibition centres.

Latest publications

Pathways to Sustainable Development or Poverty: Water Security and Wealth in the Pre-Columbian Puuc-Nohkakab Maya Lowlands
Christian Isendahl, Scott Heckbert
Crisis to Collapse: The Archaeology of Social Breakdown. Tim Cunningham and Jan Driessen (eds.), Presses universitaires de Louvain, Chapter in book 2017
Chapter in book

Identifying commoners in the Bronze Age: burials outside barrows
Sophie Bergerbrant, Kristian Kristiansen, Morten E. Allentoft, Karin M. Frei, T. Douglas Price et al.
New Perspectives on the Bronze Age: Proceedings from the 13th Nordic Bronze Age Symposium, held in Gothenburg 9th June to 13th June 2015, Oxford, Archaeopress, Chapter in book 2017
Chapter in book

La Crisis de Octubre detrás de la narrativa dominante
Håkan Karlsson
Madrid, JAS Arqueología S.L.U., Book 2017
Book

Maritime warfare in Scandinavian rock art.
Johan Ling, Andreas Toreld
Warfare in Bronze Age society, C. Horn and K. Kristiansen (eds). , Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, Chapter in book 2017
Chapter in book

Den kvinnliga tvåsamhetens frirum
Eva Borgström, Hanna Markusson Winkvist
Historiskan, Magazine article 2017
Magazine article

Mining and Social Organization
Thomas Lindkvist
Building Bridges. Abstract book of the 23rd Annual Meeting of the European Association of Archaeologists, Maastricht 30 August - 3 September 2017 , Conference contribution 2017
Conference contribution

Industristadens barnfamilj: Om levnadsförhållanden, familjeplanering och barnantal på 1800-talet
Johannes Daun
Släktforskarnas årsbok 2017, Solna, Sveriges släktforskarförbund, Chapter in book 2017
Chapter in book

Den lokala migrationen på Gotland: En ögonblicksbild av Fårö 1880
Johannes Daun
Från Gutabygd, Visby, Gotlands hembygdsförbunds förlag, Chapter in book 2017
Chapter in book

People

Showing 1 - 50 of 118

Name Title Phone Email
Persson, Lennart K +46 31 7864611
Johansson, Linnéa Doctoral student
von Scheele, Adam Institutionsadministratör +46 31 7863544 adam.von.scheele@history.gu.se
Strömberg, Agneta Senior lecturer, Women's studies/​gender studies. iconography (Classical) +46 31 7864918 agneta.stromberg@class.gu.se
Macane, Aija Doctoral student aija.macane@gu.se
Andreeff, Alexander Doctoral student, archaeology +46 31 7864610 alexander.andreeff@archaeology.gu.se
Al Khabour, Anas Researcher anas.al.khabour.2@gu.se
Gustafsson, Anders Senior lecturer, archeology +46 31 7864905 anders.gustafsson@archaeology.gu.se
Ottosson, Anders Researcher +46 31 7864610 anders.ottosson@history.gu.se
Simonsen, Anders Study counsellor +46 31 7865526 anders.simonsen@history.gu.se
Nilsen, Eva Andrine Doctoral student andrine.nilsen@gu.se
Synnestvedt, Anita Researcher +46 31 7864907 anita.synnestvedt@archaeology.gu.se
Andersson, Ann-Sofie Doctoral student +46 31 7866764 ann-sofie.andersson@gu.se
Gustavsson, Anna Doctoral student anna.gustavsson@gu.se
Nykvist Thorsson, Anna Doctoral student anna.nykvist.thorsson@gu.se
Locke, Anna Doctoral student +46 31 7865291 anna.r.locke@gu.se
Wessman, Anna Doctoral student anna.wessman@gu.se
Nitenberg, Annelie Doctoral student annelie.nitenberg@gu.se
Magnusdottir, Audur Senior lecturer +46 31 7864626 audur.magnusdottir@history.gu.se
Rotbain, Avigail Doctoral student avigail.rotbain@gu.se
Schulz Paulsson, Bettina Postdoctor +46 31 7864517 bettina.schulz.paulsson@gu.se
Sjöberg, Birgitta Senior lecturer birgitta.sjoberg.2@gu.se
Planck, Brita Senior lecturer brita.planck@history.gu.se
Holmberg, Carl Senior lecturer +46 31 7864513 carl.holmberg@history.gu.se
Bertilsson, Catarina Associate researcher +46 31 7866767 catarina.bertilsson@archaeology.gu.se
Köljing, Cecilia Communications officer +46 701-412164 cecilia.koljing@gu.se
Sandström, Cecilia Doctoral student +46 31 7864615 cecilia.sandstrom@gu.se
Leijonhufvud, Charlotte Researcher, history charlotte.leijonhufvud@gu.se
Ahlberger, Christer Professor +46 31 7864504 christer.ahlberger@history.gu.se
Horn, Christian Senior lecturer christian.horn@gu.se
Isendahl, Christian Senior lecturer, archeology +46 31 7864656 christian.isendahl@gu.se
Reimann, Christina Postdoctor, history christina.reimann@gu.se
Hansen, Christine Researcher +46 31 7862827 christine.hansen@gu.se
Hess, Cordelia Senior lecturer, Deputy Head +46 31 7865084 cordelia.hess@gu.se
Larsson, Daniel Researcher +46 31 7865948 daniel.larsson@history.gu.se
Zackrisson, Daniel Doctoral student daniel.zackrisson@gu.se
Nordström, Emma Doctoral student emma.nordstrom@gu.se
Hallberg, Erik Researcher +46 31 7862827 erik.hallberg@history.gu.se
Andersson, Eva Lecturer +46 31 7864171 eva.andersson@history.gu.se
Solemsli, Fredrik Doctoral student fredrik.solemsli@gu.se
Norstein, Frida Espolin Doctoral student frida.espolin.norstein@gu.se
Wikström, Frida Doctoral student frida.wikstrom@gu.se
Malmstedt, Göran Professor +46 31 7864508 goran.malmstedt@history.gu.se
Nilsson Schönborg, Göte Doctoral student, archaeology gote.nilsson.schonborg@history.gu.se
Karlsson, Håkan Professor +46 31 7865256 hakan.karlsson@archaeology.gu.se
Markusson Winkvist, Hanna Senior lecturer +46 31 7865962 hanna.winkvist@history.gu.se
Castenbrandt, Helene Researcher +46 31 7862883 helene.castenbrandt@history.gu.se
Lunden, Helene Finance administrator +46 31 7864385 helene.lunden@history.gu.se
Whittaker, Helene Professor, Head of Department +46 31 7864514 helene.whittaker@gu.se
Alexandersson, Henrik Doctoral student, archaeology +46 31 7865988 henrik.alexandersson@archaeology.gu.se

Showing 1 - 50 of 118

Showing 1 - 10 of 1332

2017

Pathways to Sustainable Development or Poverty: Water Security and Wealth in the Pre-Columbian Puuc-Nohkakab Maya Lowlands
Christian Isendahl, Scott Heckbert
Crisis to Collapse: The Archaeology of Social Breakdown. Tim Cunningham and Jan Driessen (eds.), Presses universitaires de Louvain, Chapter in book 2017
Chapter in book

Identifying commoners in the Bronze Age: burials outside barrows
Sophie Bergerbrant, Kristian Kristiansen, Morten E. Allentoft, Karin M. Frei, T. Douglas Price et al.
New Perspectives on the Bronze Age: Proceedings from the 13th Nordic Bronze Age Symposium, held in Gothenburg 9th June to 13th June 2015, Oxford, Archaeopress, Chapter in book 2017
Chapter in book

La Crisis de Octubre detrás de la narrativa dominante
Håkan Karlsson
Madrid, JAS Arqueología S.L.U., Book 2017
Book

Maritime warfare in Scandinavian rock art.
Johan Ling, Andreas Toreld
Warfare in Bronze Age society, C. Horn and K. Kristiansen (eds). , Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, Chapter in book 2017
Chapter in book

Den kvinnliga tvåsamhetens frirum
Eva Borgström, Hanna Markusson Winkvist
Historiskan, Magazine article 2017
Magazine article

Mining and Social Organization
Thomas Lindkvist
Building Bridges. Abstract book of the 23rd Annual Meeting of the European Association of Archaeologists, Maastricht 30 August - 3 September 2017 , Conference contribution 2017
Conference contribution

Industristadens barnfamilj: Om levnadsförhållanden, familjeplanering och barnantal på 1800-talet
Johannes Daun
Släktforskarnas årsbok 2017, Solna, Sveriges släktforskarförbund, Chapter in book 2017
Chapter in book

Den lokala migrationen på Gotland: En ögonblicksbild av Fårö 1880
Johannes Daun
Från Gutabygd, Visby, Gotlands hembygdsförbunds förlag, Chapter in book 2017
Chapter in book

Showing 1 - 10 of 1332

Page Manager: Cecilia Köljing|Last update: 2/21/2017
Share:

The University of Gothenburg uses cookies to provide you with the best possible user experience. By continuing on this website, you approve of our use of cookies.  What are cookies?